Skip to main content

New Zealand Labour Party, Eden Women's Branch records.

Identifier: MSS-Archives-2015/04

Scope and Contents

Collection contains minutes, some membership lists, correspondence and related papers.


  • 1984 - 1993

Conditions Governing Access

RESTRICTED: Written permission of the Chairperson, Auckland Regional Council, New Zealand Labour Party, P.O. Box 8941, Symonds Street, Auckland, must be obtained before the records may be consulted.

Biographical / Historical

The Eden Women's Branch of the New Zealand Labour Party was formed in June 1984. Based in the Eden Electorate, founding members included Joanne Fitzpatrick (Chair), Jean Volkerling (Secretary), Margaret Dart (Treasurer), Bettina Lay Hassalt, Elaine Dunwoodie, Elizabeth McRae and Margot Roth. The Branch appears to have been active until April 1993 when the agenda for its AGM suggests it was considering amalgamating with the Mt Albert Women's Branch.


0.25 metres (1 box.)

Language of Materials


Immediate Source of Acquisition

Donated by Joan Caulfield, Mt Albert Electorate Office in December 2008.

Related Materials

Other material related to the Eden Electorate including the records of the New Zealand Labour Party, Eden Branch can be found at MSS & Archives A-120 and Vault 29. The Library also holds the papers of Richard Northey MP for Eden between 1984 and 1990 as MSS & Archives 93/2.

Inventory of the records of the Eden Women's Branch of The New Zealand Labour Party.
Katherine Pawley
April 2015
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections, University of Auckland Repository

5 Alfred Street
Private Bag 92019
Auckland 1142 New Zealand